Oceanfront houses

Traveling from Jamaica Beach to Galveston, we pass numerous private homes along the oceanfront. Not surprising, these homes are built up on stilts because of Gulf storms. The architecture ranges from simple to stupendous, small to large, and practical to out-of-their-minds.

All-in-all, the drive is an eye-opening view of how islanders live on Galveston. I did hear that there are two designations for islands BOI (born on island) or MTI (moved to island). I’m not sure what epithets or laurels are attributed to either one.

What I did appreciate seeing is the Texas State Park that is between Jamaica Beach and Galveston. An unspoiled, undeveloped, natural stretch of four miles that crosses the entire island coast-to-coast. It gives a true picture of the sea island, vegetation, and appearance that greeted native Americans and explorer alike. But, I digress…the oceanfront homes.

The pastel palette is alive and well on Galveston Island. If you can imagine a pastel color, you will find a house paint that hue on the island. I thought that somewhere there would just be a plain brown, green, or blue…but, not here.

Single story, multiple stories, simple, extreme, all are here. I could have loaded my cell phone with photos, but after a while, they all start looking the same.

Next: Texas Navy

Leave a comment